Tuesday, March 7, 2017

A Court of Thornes and Roses: A Review #Tuesdaybookblog #amreading

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R.R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin--one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world. 

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin--and his world--forever.


Kory's Thoughts

So I won't lie: I had this book on my audible app FOR-E-VERRR and never listened to it because I just knew that it was going to be overwrought teenage angsty *&^% and I just couldn't. But I had a friend (Looking at you, Vic) who insisted that I read it and more importantly that I read it TO THE END. And I trust this friend's reading instincts, so...

When I'd finally run out of audiobooks, I reluctantly turned this one on and began. The first three chapters were INSANELY slow. Yes, they're poor. Yes, she's the breadwinner. Yes, life is hard in their cottage with her stupid sisters, etc. I didn't really care about these descriptions of snow through the trees and starvation, but once Tamlin shows up and they go off to Fairyland, things get interesting. By the time she and Tamlin got *cough cough* involved, I was totally hooked. And I looked like a crazy person because I basically just walked around listening to this book for hours and hours (like 6 hours a day, people). I kept taking my dog on longer walks so I had an excuse to keep listening and she was like WHERE ARE WE GOING, YOU INSANE HUMAN? (My pug is fat and lazy.)

It was one of those books that got under my skin where I'm obsessing about the characters. For two nights I was dreaming about them and would wake in the middle of the night unable to go back to sleep. It was nuts. I can't remember the last time a book rendered me so feverish and heartsick.

So anyway, I am glad I listened to my friend and read  TO THE END because it was touch and go in a few places, but ended with great satisfaction...well not total satisfaction because now I have the worst book hangover and I've express shipped A Court of Misty Fury, Fists and Fury...whatever it's called...and it's not going to arrive until tomorrow. TOMORROW.   

Cauldron save me..... 5 out of 5 stars 

Amazon       iBooks       Barnes and Noble      Kobo


Did you know?
I'm currently hosting a giveaway for my 7th novel, Shadows in the Water. Even "losers" get two free books (including Shadows) if they sign up for my newsletter.



Other Great Reads


FREE for a limited time only on Amazon.

Nate Temple boxset, including first three novels and a bonus novella.

Over 1700 combined five-star reviews. 10000s of copies sold. 10000000+ pages read. Almost 1000 pages of lightning-paced action. The first 4 stories in the series readers are describing as "The new Harry Dresden," or "Deadpool meets Dumbledore."


Kindle        iBooks       Nook     Kobo

The ULTIMATE Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy Boxed Set!
22 New York Times, USA Today, and International Bestselling Authors, 22 full-length novellas and novels of magic, romance, myths, and adventure!

Inside you will find everything from demons, fallen angels, and werewolves to faeries, telepaths, witches, and more! Whether you're in the mood for a supernatural biker gang, an alliance of demon hunters, an abundance of elemental magic, or a heaping serving of greek gods and goddesses, this boxed set is sure to have something to keep you up reading long past your bedtime!

No comments:

Post a Comment